Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Down to which level does the use of MVC models make sense?  (Read 7514 times)
lukasbuenger

View Profile Email
« on: September 24, 2008, 05:05:10 »

I'm just getting started with the pureMVC-framework and the mvc principle in general. I discovered this website and it's content. I got into several wikipedia-articles treating the topic last night and now I feel like the mvc model seems to be just the thing I've been looking for to organize my workflow.

Now I have a simple beginner's question:
Down to which level does the use of mvc models make sense?
An example:
I got a form with controllers controlling the data flow between the form mediator and a given proxy, a mediator which provides the form's view with the needed data etc. The form view itself consists of common form elements like radios, checkboxes, dropdowns and so on. Is it sensible to write these lowest level components with mvc principles? Have I misunderstood something?
puremvc
Global Moderator

View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2008, 06:50:16 »

The appropriate granularity of the view is one of those balances that you alone must strike in each app.

On the one hand high granularity ( a mediator for each form control) gives maximum separation of view tier concerns, but leads to an explosion of classes, and thus greater complexity.

Minimal granularity (one mediator for the entire view tier) can result in a bloated class that has much more responsibility than it should.