Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: best practices to handle (send/recieve) Messaging (BlazeDS-Turnkey) in pureMVC?  (Read 8587 times)
karfau

View Profile Email
« on: March 17, 2009, 05:29:19 »

Well I have kind of an idea that I like this framework very much, so thanks for this great (frame-)work.

This is my first attempt to build an application with the pureMVC-framework. The goal is a "platform" to play different games (included as some kind of plugin, the first one will be a-kind-of-Monopoly) with other online users. The server-backend we use is the blazeds-turnkey.

So I did a lot of modelleing for getting the idea of how to do things the right way and had a bit of understaning it better (i think).

But one thing remained unclear: what is the best way/practice to handle (react upon retrieving / send) Messages of the kind BlazeDS offers.

So sending messages from one client targets all other clients wich subscribed the destination/"channel" (eventually with the right subtopic) wich, inside the application we want to create, amongst others is needed for the chat-feature. Beside this Messages can be send by the Server, for example to send an updated list of (that are logged in) to all clients.

While trying to understand the whole thing I build a "MessagingService" wich,well i hope this picture saves me some words. (see attachment for the generated sourcecode of MessagingService wich is poorly documented in german language,sorry)

I also read about Delegates, wich I'm not sure about if they are just there to encapsulate everything "remote/async" from Proxys, and maybe they would be even a better way to do this. But I think I'm missing the right idea of then.