Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Needed(?): ICommand to receive Notification events  (Read 10907 times)
mbiggerstaff

View Profile Email
« on: July 02, 2009, 05:17:43 »

Greetings.

Hello. I am relatively new to PureMVC.  I have some questions about ICommand, AsyncCommand and related elements.  I'm sorry this post is so long. I wanted to make certain I gave a full accounting of the notification issue I asking for suggestions about.

I have worked through the Sequential demo and understand how it works.  No questions about it.  My questions are more about error detection and process control during success/fail states for asynchronous command events.

My goal: I need "transactionable" AsyncCommands which can detect successful and unsuccessful results of the execution of asynchronous mediator function calls.  This means (or seems to mean) I need a ICommand class/solution that executes a asynchronous function on a mediator and waits for the asynchronous results of that mediator action to be delivered to the Command in an asynchronous manner.

Background: I have a series of commands that will be executed in an AsyncMacroCommand derivation. If one AsyncCommand registers failure, I need to detect this and (potentially) abort the entire series of commands, retry the failed command and/or ignore the error entirely and continue executing steps.  The success use case is already working.

Pseudo Call Diagram:

MyAsyncCommand.execute()
    +--(calls)--> MyMediator's function1()
                  {
                     // async method invoked
                     executes/starts a non-PureMVC asynchronous task
                  }

MyMediator's function2( some event )
                  {