Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Mediators and Components Help to Understand  (Read 8890 times)
citizen_conn

View Profile Email
« on: August 24, 2009, 03:33:49 »

Hi. I am very new to puremvc and trying to establish the architecture for an online questionnaire done in flash.

AS in previous iterations I have extended the TextField class to make a CustomTextFieldClass with some predefined properties such as textField.stylesheet = [global class].styles.css; I would then pass in the textField content as a string in the constructor.

In my puremvc version, I feel this would best be done with a TextFieldMediator, which has access to the proxies which contain the text I need (from the xml), the stylesheets, etc.

My questions are as follows:

1. Considering that I need access to those proxies, the best way to do this is to have a mediator for that component right?

2. I will for sure need to have multiple instances of this component within whatever parent viewComponent, so I think its silly to have a mediator for each view component and have to register each one. How does one go about adding multiple instances of a view component that are all children of the same mediator?

I was unable to understand how this should work by reading the best practices PDF so any help is greatly appreciated!

Ted

citizen_conn

View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2009, 11:08:01 »

Ok. So after sleeping on it and dreaming in puremvc, (the view was the most prominent class), I have come to the following conclusion: