Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Why notifications?  (Read 5603 times)
Eric Arnold (umop)

View Profile Email
« on: October 18, 2009, 05:51:19 »

Hi all,

I've been working on my application as a PureMVC project for a couple of months now, and I have been having an architectural quandary in my mind for some time.  I'm wondering why the elaborate use of notifications is necessary.  It seems that when it comes down to it, they are just an abstraction of method calls, consolidated into a centrally accessible facade.  To explain my point, imagine a notification inside my app:

:
var body:MyNotificationData = new MyNotificationData(myValue);
this.sendNotification(ApplicationFacade.MY_NOTIFICATION, body);

this eventually makes its way to my mediator in the handleNotification( note:Notification ) handler:

:
override public function handleNotification( note:INotification ):void        
switch ( note.getName() ) {
case ApplicationFacade.MY_NOTIFICATION:
this.onMyNotification(MyNotificationData(note.getBody()));
break;
}
}

private function onMyNotification(body:MyNotificationData) {
var myValue:String = body.myValue;
// Do something with myValue
}