Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Multi-page Flash apps without MultiCore?  (Read 7936 times)
jlahr

View Profile Email
« on: December 23, 2009, 11:39:20 »

I'm working a Flash project with a half dozen or so different screens. My understanding based on posts in this forum is that any project that requires loading multiple SWFs is a good candidate for MultiCore.

Since I'm new to PureMVC in generally and want to avoid the added complexity of MultiCore, I'm curious if people have been able to implement complex, multi-page Flash movies without it. I'm assuming that if I can't load external SWFs without MultiCore the only other option is to store each page as it's own MovieClip and load them dynamically. If that's true, am I correct in assuming that these clips will all have to load when the app is open and there's no way to load a MovieClip on demand?

If anybody has solutions that have worked for them, I'd love to hear them.

Thanks.
dihardja

View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2009, 07:51:13 »

I had a multiple swf flash project with the puremvc standard version once. Although the multicore looks a bit more complex than the standard version, you will figure out that during the development (especially if more than one developer is involved) the multicore version is definitely the preferred one.

The progress of using the standard version for a multiple swf flash project could be like this.

1) You have a main.swf ( the container where the pages are loaded into )
2) Each page ( the swfs which will be loaded into the main.swf ) are only views which doesnt implement any business logic at all and are also not linked to any class.