Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Using Mediators as Controllers  (Read 8007 times)
flexacs

View Profile Email
« on: December 27, 2009, 12:22:28 »

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to PureMVC, but I am very interested about working with this framework.
What I don't like about it is that sometimes I get the feeling it's too much code to write to do few. Of course, this will pay out later, for big applications, I got that, but still ...

Another thing is that you cannot find good authority samples. The existing ones are provided by 3rd party people and I think they do not follow 100% the concepts behind the PureMVC. For a framework beginner like me this can become very annoying, because you simply do not get the right way to do stuff. Every sample available on the internet has a different approach. I will give an example:

I am trying to build an AIR app using PureMVC and I studied lots of examples. I can do it, but I am interested in the right "perfect" way. So I took a look at CodePeek. I saw that only Startup and Shutdown commands are used. I was expecting to have a command for the search action, but instead the proxy methods are called directly from mediators. Working like this, you can completely remove the Commands from the picture, so where is the Controller then? Here it seems its role is played by the Mediators, which not only they provide a steward for the views, but they actually access the model directly.
Maybe I got this wrong, but it seems CodePeek approach is not 100% in the spirit of PureMVC. Can someone please tell me which is the correct way to approach this? Maybe a good sample?

Thanks all.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2009, 12:28:16 by flexacs » Logged
puremvc