Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: AS3 Structure help  (Read 8869 times)
kharr1027

View Profile Email
« on: July 10, 2008, 02:07:09 »

I am new to PureMVC and am having a hard time grasping how it all ties together. I have a view created but how does the view get placed onto the stage? Is this handled in PureMVC or do you create the object (new component()) and then add it to the stage yourself? Where should this be done at? I have been looking through the forum and at examples for 3 days now and still am not quite understanding it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
puremvc
Global Moderator

View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2008, 03:57:05 »

You'll probably want to have an ApplicationMeditor that holds the reference to the top level app. You'll send a Notification from the Mediator or Command that created the new component, with that component as the body of the note.

The ApplicationMediator will be interested in this note and will take the component and do an addChild on the Application. This assumes Flex. If you're talking about Flash that might be a StageMediator instead.

-=Cliff>
kharr1027

View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2008, 07:00:06 »

thanks for the reply cliff. you probably don't remember me but we worked together a little bit while you were at ntara. You attempted to help us with a php project that was way over my head at the time. yeah, i am no longer there either. looks like things are going well for you though. thanks again i think i am starting to understand the PureMVC framework now.
kharr1027

View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2008, 10:51:46 »