Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Modular applications, directory structure, and RSLs  (Read 21727 times)
estaylorco

View Profile Email
« on: February 28, 2010, 08:50:32 »

Hello Forum:

I'm a certified .NET developer, but I'm new to the Flex/Flash world.  We are moving three of our applications into the cloud, and after two months of research, have decided on Flex (Flash Builder 4.0), MultiCore PureMVC (without Pipes for now), and ColdBox (on top of ColdFusion 9.0 ORM) as our technology stack of choice.  The architecture for each will following 'modularity' pattern.

Consider the following as you read on: Modules will be dynamically loaded.  The shell will have no foreknowledge of the modules that will be loaded into it, other than of the Administration Module.

I have a few questions concerning directory structure.  Following Joshua Ostrom's example, I'm thinking that I should have separate projects for the shell, for common, and for each module.  In the .NET world, we have the same problem with our AppDomains that you guys have with ApplicationDomains: Once a module ('assembly' in .NET) has been loaded into an AppDomain, it cannot be unloaded.  It's my understanding that the foregoing approach to separation facilitates mitigating, or eliminating altogether, GC issues and ApplicationDomain issues.

From what I've read around the forum, and in the Adobe documentation, it would be advisable to treat the framework SWC as an RSL, PureMVC MultiCore as external, and then place the two of them (along with another other common elements) into a separate Flex Library Project--perhaps called 'common'.