Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: When to remove a Mediator for a view  (Read 10884 times)
ajs35

View Profile Email
« on: April 19, 2010, 05:57:05 »

hi all,

i am new to MVC, only a few months experience... but i have worked with AS2 and AS3 for a long time.  i am used the PureMVC framework for the latest version of our product.  i have several nested views with a combination of components.  i am using "mode" and "view" changes to manage different form states and it works great right now to help manage and remove the child views... but when do i remove a mediator for a view?  is it hurting anything to allow a mediator to persist in the application if it only acts on notifications it is interested in?  seems like on register if i great a view for the first time, i can use notifciations to manage it's view state and to whether it has child views visible or not.  i hope that makes sense.  i have a dB driven application so all view components are built and managed by there mediator, so going with a fresh start seems like it might be excessive when managing what view is displayed.

thanks all!
puremvc
Global Moderator

View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2010, 10:49:34 »

The mediator is typically a long-lived actor. If a view component is removed from the view hierarchy, you want to remove its mediator as well. But while the component is still part of the hierarchy, its mediator should still be in place. You don't want to register and remove the Mediator each time it is shown or hidden.

-=Cliff>
ajs35

View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2010, 08:04:56 »