Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Newbie question  (Read 12405 times)
Maki

View Profile Email
« on: April 14, 2010, 08:30:59 »

Hi!

I'm a total newbie to PureMVC. I have done quite a bit of reading, and I'm now about ready to start using PureMVC in practice in a distance learning application where students can take courses, participate in scheduled, live lectures and take exams.

When entering the app, the user is first presented with an overview view that lists the courses to which the user is registered along with summary data about these courses.

When selecting a course the lecture view is loaded, displaying the ”current lecture”, which may be an ongoing lecture if the user has registered to it, or the next upcoming lecture.

The  lecture view consists of a slide presentation player (where the lecturer presents his slides) a video player (streaming a live feed from the lecturers web cam) and a chat where students may ask questions and participate in discussions during the lecture.

The model will look something like this:

DistantLearningApp
student
current Lectures
courses
lectures
exams

I have some problems with how to represent this in a PureMVC architecture.

1)I should be going with multicore I suppose? What would the different cores be?
2)I'm thinking each lecture should have it's own proxy. The lecture view/mediator will then be associated with the current lecture proxy for the selected course which points to a lecture proxy. Which lecture is pointed to will change with time. Does this make sense?