Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Accessing the Stage in the stage mediator  (Read 7246 times)
dermdunc

View Profile Email
« on: March 28, 2010, 01:59:26 »

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to pureMVC so sorry in advance if this is an obvious question. What I'm trying to do is move movieclips around my stage. they're new locations are calculated based on where the mouse is clicked. This is my workflow is as follows

StartUpCommand is called and registers my stageMediator

I cast the viewComponent to a type of Stage

protected function get stage():Stage{
            return viewComponent as Stage;
        }

on StageMediator I add a movie clip to my stage as follows
stage.addChild(theScene);

I then have a loop for nesting multiple movieclips in this "theScene" movieclip
if (pointsArray != null)
         {
            for (i=0; i < pointsArray.length; i++){
               var studentEntityInstance:MovieClip = new StudentEntity();
               studentEntityInstance.name = "studentEntity" + i;
               studentEntityInstance.visible = true;
               studentEntityInstance.x = pointsArray.x;
               studentEntityInstance.y = pointsArray.y;
               studentEntityInstance.z = pointsArray.z;
               var attachedObj = theScene.addChild(studentEntityInstance);
            }

So this is my initial scene setup. i have an eventlistener on my stage listening for a mouseClick