Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: async commands, animations, fsm  (Read 7490 times)
midget35

View Profile Email
« on: February 04, 2011, 07:43:31 »

Hi guys,

I've been using PureMVC constantly for around 2 years, but often feel like I lack basic understanding of how to use this framework. I encounter problems with how to run asynch commands all the time. I've read every forum post on Asynch tokens, fsm, but I just don't get what I should do when waiting for animations or remote services to complete.

Here's my scenario:
1.  I click a button in one view that sends a notification to a macro command via that view's mediator.
2. said macro command sets off a sub command that asks several mediators to make adjustments to views, and asks one view in particular to commence a simple tween.
3. once that simple tween is complete, I want the execution of the rest of the subcommands to commence again.

That's basically it. Ideally I don't want to send another command saying that an animation is complete, and start off another batch of sub commands or whatever by calling a slightly different macro command that picks up where the last macro command left off. I just want some concept of delay to exist in a command chain and - ideally- to have some juncture where the feedback of an asynch token (or whatever) might determine which one of several sub commands to initiate next.

I would really appreciate any help here :) This is a daily struggle for me lately that I'm sure is easily overcome. Many thanks in advance for any help.
puremvc
Global Moderator

View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2011, 05:42:20 »