Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Attaching pipes to modules  (Read 11269 times)
4ucai

View Profile Email
« on: November 30, 2011, 01:26:39 »

Hello,

I recently started studying the pipes utility. However, I stumble some rocks ahead.
I have this module cores( which are individual swf ), both will be loaded to a main swf.
I was successful in communicating the two modules using interface but I believe using pipes
will provide me greater flexibility as I introduce more modules.
I can't seem to know when to attach the pipe fittings to the modules. Both of my modules now
have a ModuleJunctionMediator, I still cant grasp the idea on how to connect the pipes to the
module.

Regards
Michael
puremvc
Global Moderator

View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2011, 08:18:10 »

You should make your module implement an IPipeAwareModule interface that gives it methods for accepting an input pipe or an output pipe. These are sent by notification to the internal JunctionMediator which handles adding them.

You could have a look at source code for the PipeWorks demo here:
http://trac.puremvc.org/Demo_AS3_MultiCore_Flex_PipeWorks

Jens Krause has a good demo here:
http://www.websector.de/blog/2008/06/21/a-basic-puremvc-multicore-as3-example-using-pipes-utility-and-modules/

Joel Hooks' great demo combining pipes and the state machine:
http://joelhooks.com/2009/05/18/piping-the-machine-puremvc-multicore-with-pipes-and-the-finite-state-machine-fsm/

Frederic Saunier has another good pipes demo here:
http://www.tekool.net/blog/2009/06/14/puremvc_flex_modules_and_pipes/

Hopefully these will get you started and show you a few different takes on the mechanics of plumbing your app with Pipes.

Cheers,