Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Adding multiple arguments to a Notification  (Read 10056 times)
timh

View Profile Email
« on: January 25, 2008, 05:54:58 »

Hi - I'm new to this...

What does anyone consider the best way to pass multiple arguments along with a notification?
You could make an anonymous object (sounds ugly) or you could make a ValueObject (sounds wrong for my usage).
 I'm trying to make a logger, so want to be able to send a "log" notification with 3 arguments.

Thanks

Tim
puremvc
Global Moderator

View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2008, 06:58:58 »

Value objects are good for this. They are meant to shuttle data across tiers of an app. They don't have to be part of the domain model.

-=Cliff>
timh

View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2008, 09:45:44 »

Thanks Cliff, that makes sense.
puremvc
Global Moderator

View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2008, 12:11:26 »

It doesn't always make sense to create a Value Object, though.

For instance, lets say your app has a number of view components, which dynamically have new children created, and need Mediators registered for them on the fly.

The Mediator for the view component who has just had a new child created has been listening for an event sent when the child is created.

In the handler for that event, the Mediator knows the view component that was created and the appropriate Mediator for it and wants to send a Notification containing the view component and the name of the Mediator to create.

Then, a CreateMediatorCommand hears this Notification and in a switch statement creates the named Mediator.