Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Architecture of reusable modules with different view per project  (Read 6364 times)
joao.saleiro

View Profile Email
« on: May 07, 2008, 09:51:08 »

Hello,

I am starting now with PureMVC. I was a Cairngorm adept (changed from ARP when Flex 2 appeared), but Cairngorm failed me when I started working more and more with Modules.

I studied PureMVC with the multicore examples, and both the architecture and workflow convinced me.  I am not 100% comfortable with PureMVC yet, but I'm already testing it on a real project.

I am trying to improve code reusability, and I need some advices to achieve a best-practices solution to the problem I'll describe below. This might be a common problem when someone starts building larger projects, while reusing code, and maintaining the smallest dependencies possible between modules. I'll try to explain with an example.

We have organized our workflow for reusing code between projects the following way:

- we have a folder where we put everything that's needed among several projects (our library);
- in each project we add the library to the classpath of the project.

For example, about 90% of our projects need a custom "LocaleManager " module. A LocaleManager is something composed with a view, a model and a controller, that allows users to add new languages to our RIAs. The functionality is 100% equal in every application. So we decided to create a Module that resides on our library path, and the Module has it's own MVC architecture based on PureMVC multicore.