Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: data binding from valueObjects to MXML components, is it possible?  (Read 8093 times)
zzal

View Profile Email
« on: May 15, 2008, 07:43:02 »

Hi,

I'm relatively new with pureMVC, and I have decided to go for it for my next big project (since I'd like to code at the speed of thought... ;) ).

I have started my project over the AppSkeleton and EmployeeAdmin demos to help me fully understand all the mechanisms. I rapidly found that I should just re-re-read the Best practices and implementation article. Very nice work.

I have modified completely the LocaleProxy to better fit my needs and it blow me away: I now use the ResourceManager and localized properties files (with compiler arguments: "-locale= -resource-bundle-list=bundles.txt") and it's incredible! Every mxml component that shows localized text just change automatically when I switch the language. i don't fully understand it but it works!
Example:
<mx:Label text="{resourceManager.getString(ApplicationFacade.LOCALE,'LANGUAGE')}:"/>

(note that the string is concatenate with ':' and it still work)

I'm getting to the point here.

What I want to is, for example, bind the text of a mx:Label with one value of a valueObject, like:
<mx:Label text="{ApplicationFacade.getLoginProxy().fullName}"/>

And in my LoginProxy:

public function get welcomeName():String {
   return 'Some localized text ' + loginVO.name;
}

but it doesn't work at all. Even if the loginVO.name changes, the label never changes.
I have setup a notification call to do it, but i'd prefer use data binding for that.

Can I?
Is it a bad practice?

thanks!