Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Data Layer Abstraction  (Read 9364 times)
ricardokirkner

View Profile Email
« on: May 21, 2008, 12:22:24 »

Hi. I am completely new to PureMVC, and somewhat new to Flex, but I have to develop a new application using Flex, and I though of giving PureMVC a chance.

One of the requirements of the App is that I should be able to change the underlying plattform as seamlessly as possible. By that I mean, that if I decide to start developing the app using XulRunner as a plattform, and later on I decide to better use Air, I should be able to do that as easily as possible. On the other hand I will be initially using a sqlite database for my data, but I would like to be able to later use a webservice api for invoking data storage on a remote server.

So, regarding this last requirement, I though of the following. All my proxies should just use a service for setting/getting the data, and the service should just implement an interface, so I could eventually change the underlying implementation in order to access a database through filesystem, or access a remote api through webservices, without affecting the rest of the application. In the event of changing where the data is stored, I should only have to replace the service's implementation, but not alter the proxies.

I just wanted to have your oppinion on this, what weak points you see, and/or how you would modify it for better abstraction/performance/ease of use.

thank you in advance,

ricardo
Elephant

View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2008, 01:16:12 »

Hi,