Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Some novice questions  (Read 8686 times)
chiekurs

View Profile Email
« on: September 09, 2007, 02:29:14 »

Hey ppl!

I just started to use pureMVC just few days ago so I'm pretty new to it hence i might be missing some basic things.
Anyhow, everything is great, everything is working except that I ran into some  issues I don't really understand.
First of all I noticed that if I do like this:
:
override public function handleNotification(notification:INotification):void {
trace("getName "+notification.getName())
}
I get traces from notifications current mediator isn't subscribed to.
Is that normal behavior or a bug? If thats normal behavior listNotificationInterests implementation lose any sense.
I would be grateful if anyone could explain me this issue.

Other thing give a lot more head ache.
I have a mediator which is needed only while user haven't logged on - LoginForm. I assumed that it would be only logical if i remove that mediator after user has logged on so I made class StartApplicationCommand which does
:
facade.removeMediator(LoginFormMediator.NAME);but this gives me error message
:
Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference.What is it all about?

Third issue is that before making separate START_APPLICATION notifier I wanted to use USER_LOGIN_SUCESSFULL which should inform  LoginForm that it's job is done and then invoke StartApplicationCommand, but as I noticed StartApplicationCommand.execute is fired before this message gets to LoginForm hence it didn't  knew when to remove it's visual component.
Is there any best practices on this issue or I should just use two notifiers and thats a normal way?