Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Starting with PureMVC  (Read 14963 times)
ahmednuaman

View Profile WWW Email
« on: July 10, 2008, 04:17:19 »

Hey all,

I'm new to AS3 MVC, but not the MVC concept or AS3. I've had a look at the best practice guide and set up my app:

Base.fla
Base.as (Base.fla's document class)
com
> domain
>> app
>>> ApplicationFacade.as
>>> models
>>> views
>>> controllers

That's just a basic idea of the current directory structure.

So looking good? Cool, I do a quick launch to test the movie in the Flash IDE and it returns errors regarding the code I copied from the best practices guide on ApplicationFacade.as. The errors are to do with the 'registerCommand()' functions where StartupCommand, LoginCommand and GetPresCommand don't exists.

So should then? If not, what should be inside them and where should I create them?

All the best,

Ahmed Nuaman
interactive creative designer
---------------------
www.ahmednuaman.com
lingie

View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2008, 09:25:08 »

Hi,

It looks like you're on the right track! :)  The registerCommand() function calls take the command string and the name of the command.  So in the case of ApplicationFacade.as from the best practices guide, there needs to be three command classes: StartupCommand, LoginCommand, and GetPrefsCommand.  You would create these in your controller(s) directory.

There are a few helpful demo applications that you might want to look at: Application Skeleton (AppSkeleton) is nice for showing how to setup directories & files.  EmployeeAdmin is from the courseware (I think) that is often mentioned around here.  That's a really helpful example for showing how everything works together.