Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Error management from Java side control  (Read 11076 times)
seb

View Profile Email
« on: January 30, 2009, 07:45:13 »

Hi,

I'm quite new to Puremvc and Flex and I'm trying to use Flex with an existing Java framework that we already developped and used. This framework only deals with the model part = accessing to the database for CRUD operations or validating when the user fills forms (eg the user pseudo may be unique and things like that...).
To access the model, the framework has Service objects (like USerService) and it returns a ServiceResponse object that can contain a List of Object (simple POJO) if everything is OK, or a List of ServiceError objects if there was errors (not Exceptions). This ServiceError object contains the error message, the name of the property that has an error (in the case of filling a form for instance), and the severity of the error.
In the Flex side, I have a ServiceResponse.as and a ServiceError.as classes linked to the ServiceResponse.java and the ServiceError.java.
What I would like to do, is linking the error message contained in the ServiceError object to the property in error and displaying errors like Flex Validators do this = the form input in error in a red square and a tooltip with the error message for example.
I was thinking to inspect the ServiceResponse to determine if errors exist and in this case to dispatch a ValidationResultEvent containing ValidationResult objects with the properties of my ServiceError objects. I think this could link the errors to the right property in error?
But.... with Puremvc where can/may I dispatch Events to the view part to imitate the Validator behavior?