Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: when we need observer?  (Read 7744 times)
marks416

View Profile Email
« on: October 05, 2008, 09:09:58 »

I am new to pureMVC

I want to know in which case we need import the observer class.    
org.puremvc.as3.patterns.observer

Thanks

Mark
puremvc
Global Moderator

View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2008, 06:25:57 »

Never. It is used internally by the framework and is not something you really ever need to use or import.

-=Cliff>
guyinthechair

View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2008, 10:46:42 »

Hey Cliff, allow me to share a story from when I used the Observer class directly.

At my last job, I was responsible for porting our very poorly architected Flex app to something more manageable. Almost everything was ported to PureMVC without a hitch, and it took about 8 weeks what had originally taken 10 months to write. However, there was a big part of the app that consisted of "Widgets."

Widgets were dynamically created view modules that displayed and refreshed information (similar to an RSS feed). Widgets had some fairly complex user interactions (custom mouse gestures, etc.), and had taken the original programmer hundreds of hours to write in the old code base. I decided to tackle this problem last because I knew Widgets were complicated and would take the most time of any individual piece. After assessing the situation, I estimated it would take at least a month (maybe more) to refactor this giant mess into the PureMVC architecture, even if we made it easier by using dynamic mediators for each Widget. Needless to say, this was unacceptable to management (why would a single piece make the refactoring take 50% longer?)