Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Need some general advice on application design  (Read 5978 times)
papiot

View Profile Email
« on: November 27, 2008, 04:41:50 »

Hi folks,

I have been using PureMVC (single core) for about 8 months now together with AS3/Flex.  I have been learning AS3/Flex and PureMVC at the same time.  The project I am working on right now is a CRM system, so its core components are very easily broken into modules.

I got to a point where I need to have multiple instances of the same view and/or mediator and to be able to handle them.  This part I have done using the singleton puremvc, however I find it cumbersome and might create issues later.

I have just started reading a few days ago about PureMVC Multicore, and I understand it for the most part.  I still need some more time to soak in how the communication is done between individual modules and how to load/unload modules on the fly.

This is where I need advice.  I am thinking of taking each module from my application, and put it in its own application.  So right now, we have requirements for 9 modules.  I want to create these modules as independent applications (using PureMVC singlecore or multicore? ) and then creating a 10th "Main" application, which will incorporate these modules. 

What does everyone think? The other option is to start up a new project using the multicore and code everything as a whole application.  I am a little pressed by time and I don't know which route to take.

I really hope my question makes sense and thanks a lot in advance for your help!
puremvc
Global Moderator

View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2008, 09:58:58 »