Futurescale, Inc. PureMVC Home

The PureMVC Framework Code at the Speed of Thought

Over 10 years of community discussion and knowledge are maintained here as a read-only archive.

New discussions should be taken up in issues on the appropriate projects at https://github.com/PureMVC

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Dynamic Mediators and Notifications  (Read 10444 times)
Dal

View Profile Email
« on: April 21, 2008, 03:18:01 »

Kia Ora,
Firstly I'd like to say well done to Keith its a nice scaleble framework.

This is my first attempt at MVC and Flash AS3 Framework, I am creating menu structures and stage layouts dynamically dependent on the page that is read in, all my Mediators and Components are created dynamically from recursive simple and macro commands.

What I am finding though is that because I am creating them all dynamically, when sending a notification to the menu for example I am having to have all my mediators receive the notification and react only if their mediator name is the same as that which is sent in the notification......

Although this works, the result is complicated code that is not very easy to follow, I also think that its a little too dependent on each other and not as loosely coupled as it could be - i'm sure if a came back in a month I'd have trouble following it!

Does anyone have an example where they have used dynamic mediators in a different way?????

Cheers
~D

Dal

View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2008, 05:54:31 »

sorry clif not  keith I is tired
puremvc
Global Moderator

View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2008, 08:59:52 »

You can use the type property as the discriminator, but you're still having to check it. You could create a one or more dynamic notification names that's the sender will use to target a specific receiver without knowing who it is. That would entail dynamically generating one or more strings in the array that the mediator returns when listNotificationInterests is called.

-=Cliff>

Dal